Scattered Pictures

Sometimes I just get my pictures out just to look at them.  I have a very personal relationship with the prints that I’ve inherited over the years.  I now have in my position what I think might be one of the most extensive photographic archives of our family in existence and believe me, I’m honored to be the one housing and building on such an important set of images.  They go back pretty far, too!  one of my favorites is a picture of my Gramma and Grandpa Jordan standing proudly with my aunt Catherine on her wedding day with her new in-laws.   Grandma’s name was Josephine and her husband (my dads’ dad) … his name was Ray.  I never got a chance to meet Ray.  He died in 1978.  I was born in 1980.   Actually, this one particular photograph is so special to me I think because it’s the first time I saw the man’s face.  Before this photo came along now that I think about it, I don’t think I knew what he looked like.  I couldn’t help but try and pick out in his face all of the similarities between us, or at least I wanted there to be some.  Not knowing either of my Grandfathers I don’t think necessarily affected me negatively, but it has made their pictures all that much more valuable to me.  I like to think that the work that I do as a wedding and portrait photographer will be equally as important to someone someday and that makes me want to get up and do this job more and more every day! 

The next time you are able, get out your photo album.  Think about the people in the pictures and know that in that place and time everything was just right. It’s one of my favorite things to do and it is the best medicine I can think of!

-Tommy

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started